Lil Cindy Lou WHO??

one girl's sarcastic journey through life

A Moscow Mule January 13, 2011

Filed under: FUN FUN FUN,travels,yummy in my tummy — CindyLouWho @ 9:20 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

What is this delicious looking cocktail?

Well, it was the only thing that I tasted in China that I could attempt to make myself at home.  Sadly all the delectable food used ingredients that I can’t get in the US. 

This lovely cocktail is a throwback to the 1940’s when the US went through a vodka craze (I knew I was born in the wrong era).  It isn’t actually from Moscow, people just perceive vodka as Russian (think of it as the 1940’s version of mail-order brides).

 Here is the recipe that I followed (thanks Oprah):

                             1 ounce vodka

                             1 tsp. sugar syrup

                             Fresh lime juice

                             1/2 cup ginger beer

                             1 sprig fresh mint

                             1 slice of lime

Directions

In a copper mug, pour vodka over ice. Add sugar syrup and lime juice. Top with ginger beer and stir. Garnish with mint sprig and lime slice.

 I didn’t have any copper mugs on hand, but a regular old glass does the job, and if you attempt to make this at home, you can find ginger beer in the “international” aisle at the grocery store.

 

Leave a Reply

