Lil Cindy Lou WHO??

one girl's sarcastic journey through life

We got the beets… September 9, 2010

Filed under: yummy in my tummy — CindyLouWho @ 9:41 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I LOVE beets.  It’s an odd adoration, but really do love them.  A few times  a year I will got to the local farmstand and buy a bunch of them with these grand ideas of how I will eat them.  In the end I always roast them up in the toaster wrapped in tinfoil with a little oil, salt, and pepper.  They are delicious.   The bunch that I had this weekend got roasted then married a lovely crumbled goat cheese.  It was a lovely salad and I should have taken a photo, but I was so excited to eat it that photography slipped my mind.

I will give you this fair warning if you want to follow in my beet footsteps… eating a lot fresh beets will turn your urine HOT PINK.  For reals. The first time it happened I thought that I was dying (yes I am very dramatic).  This time I was only shocked for a millisecond.

I used to fear beets, I am not sure why.  I guess they have always gotten a bad rap and I never gave them a chance.  The Obama’s don’t like beets…do you think that they have given them a fair shake?  Probably not.

 

Leave a Reply

