Lil Cindy Lou WHO??

one girl's sarcastic journey through life

A little taste of a dutch oven… August 7, 2010

Filed under: travels,yummy in my tummy — CindyLouWho @ 10:19 am

poffertjes cooking

Technically a pan, but the term dutch oven cracks me up.  In fact while in Amsterdam with some good friends a few years ago we came up with the bright idea to open a bar in America called the Dutch Oven.  We would have hooks under the bar for purses and serve toasties.  Toasties are basically grilled cheese sandwiches cooked in a toaster rather than in a pan with butter, typically there is a combo of meat and cheese.  Gouda is the common cheese used.  Most bars serve them in Holland to soak up the Heinekens and Amstels.  I love traveling and tasting the regional fare.  It is so interesting to see the different takes on foods depending on what the common ingredients and seasonings are in the area.

But I digress…back to breakfast today.  We made blueberry poffertjes and sausage.  I haven’t used the pan in a while since I bought it for

poffertjes ready to eat

the hubs after our trip to Amsterdam so I had the bright idea to give the Finster a taste of this dutch delicacy.  Poffertjes are little puffy pancakes, there is special batter that should be used, but I didn’t have any on hand so we made due with regular old pancake batter.  Instead of using just milk or water I used an egg and milk.  They came out light and fluffy and most of all Finley LOVED them.  I am pretty sure that she ate just as many as I did.   They are typically topped with powdered sugar and butter, but we just used syrup and Finley’s were plain.  In Holland they like to combine the sweet with the savory (my most favoritest of flavor combos) and they can be filled with ham or cheese or meat of some sort.  I highly recommend trying different types of pancakes with flavors you wouldn’t expect.  For inspiration I suggest visiting the Pancake Bakery if you are in Holland-or just their website if you can’t make it to the actual restaurant. Smakelijk eten!

 

3 Responses to “A little taste of a dutch oven…”

  1. Brian Says:

    a little holland-style wake-and-bake with some of these babies and you’re in heaven.

  2. Dana Says:

    My favorite is chocolate chips Den loves porkroll in them. I still think we should have a party and only serve these delicious finger foods and maybe some fun-do!!

  3. Heather Says:

    Hahaha. Dutch ovens! I can’t help but laugh whenever I hear it 🙂


Leave a Reply

