Lil Cindy Lou WHO??

one girl's sarcastic journey through life

I love me some piggy July 27, 2010

Filed under: yummy in my tummy — CindyLouWho @ 8:20 am

I guess the theme last weekend was piggy.  I had pig of some sort all three days…and it was wonderbar. 
The most noteworthy piggy was the one that spun on a  spit for about 12 hours on Saturday before we got to enjoy the deliciousness that is pulled pork sandwiches.   
Sunday I had more PIG, I am obviously not Kosher with the amount of pork that I consume.  I had a delicious ham and cheese (again, not Kosher) english muffin for breakfast and then cleaned the house for a potential buyer…who stood us up.  I hate cleaning. 
  
For dinner that night I actually cooked…you guessed it more piggy!  We had breaded pork chops and applesauce (think Peter Brady channeling Humphrey Bogart), baked cherry tomatoes with bleu cheese, and PURPLE potatoes.  I had the most adorable sous chef, but please don’t ask me what we made that the sous chef needed a whisk or ladle-I guess she has her own kitchen confidential. 
 
Breaded Pork Chops 
5 boneless pork chops pounded thinly 
1 cup flour 
1 cup panko bread crumbs 
1 egg 
salt & pepper 
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese 
2 tbsp olive oil 
1 tsp butter 
Heat up oil and butter in a pan over medium heat. 
Mix the bread crumbs and cheese in a small bowl.  Lightly beat the egg in a separate bowl.  Mix the flour, salt, and pepper in a separate bowl.  Dredge the pork chops in the flour, then the egg, then the bread crumbs and add to pan over medium heat.  Cook a few minutes on each side until cooked through.  DO NOT OVERCOOK, the pork will get tough and in my opinion inedible-yes, I am picky with my pork.   In fact I didn’t even like pork chops until a couple of years ago, I think that they were always over-cooked.
 
Roasted Purple Potatoes 
I LOVE LOCAL FOOD. There I said it and I won’t take it back.  I stopped at the local farm stand last week to get some peaches and happened upon some lovely little purple potatoes for all of $.95/lb-how could I not buy them?  I knew I had to have them, but wasn’t sure what I would do with them.  Potatoes are one of my favorite foods…ever.  I initially thought mashed-seriously, how cute would purple mashed potatoes be? Perhaps I would even use a piping bag to make them even fancier. Then I thought scalloped, but decided against it since the cream would mask the purpleness (yes, that’s a word). 
I decided to keep it simple and quartered the darlings then drizzled with olive oil, sea salt, fresh pepper, and fresh rosemary from my garden.  It was delicious….the sous chef even approved! 

For the vegetable (technically a fruit-I know) I cut a few cups of cherry tomatoes in half and threw in a casserole dish then crumbled some bleu cheese over top and baked in the toaster oven (you know how I feel about having the oven on in the summer)until the tomatoes softened just a bit. 
It was a visually appealing dinner and everyone lurved it….and we had enough left over for lunch the next day-score!

 

One Response to “I love me some piggy”

  1. brian Says:

    um, when do i get to eat all this?


Leave a Reply

