Lil Cindy Lou WHO??

one girl's sarcastic journey through life

Sorry Smitten Kitchen…you have lost this battle July 21, 2010

Filed under: yummy in my tummy — CindyLouWho @ 8:19 am

I wanted to follow-up my Bourbon Banana Bread recipe with a little review of the bread.  Long story short, I think I set myself up for disappointment.  I had all these idyllic thoughts of how good this bread would be, I even pictured the three of us eating it and fighting over the last piece.  I am pretty sure that Finbaby hated it, apparently she doesn’t love booze in her food-we are considering a DNA test.  I just thought that it was okay.  It wasn’t particularly light and the flavor wasn’t fantastic.

If I want to Finley to have the mom that makes the world’s best banana bread I will stick with my girl Ina’s recipe, perhaps you know her better as the Barefoot Contessa.  I have been making a version of this bread/muffin for years and every time I eat it I forget how delicious it is.  I generally alter the recipe a bit depending on what I have on hand, but I will say that I never leave out the coconut-it is brilliant in the bread.  If I am feeling a little randy I will even top them off with cream cheese frosting…my favoritest of all the frostings.

 

One Response to “Sorry Smitten Kitchen…you have lost this battle”

  1. Brian Says:

    So put bourbon in Ina’s recipe and I think you have the perfect muffin.


Leave a Reply

